New Experiences / Writing

A New Experience: Entering A Short Story Contest

I’ve always enjoyed writing, and as a creative type, I’ve inevitably embarked on plenty of novel writing missions. Sometimes they’re inspired by alcohol, other times they’re inspired by a great movie, but it always starts with excitement and potential and always proves to be a daunting task. None of my prior novel attempts have made it past 10 or 15 pages, but they were always a fun exercise in the creative process.

I made a simple New Year’s resolution this year: Do more. In my quest to partake in new experiences and continue to grow personally and professionally I followed a few random Twitter accounts looking for ideas and inspiration, one of which was Ardor Literary Magazine (@ARDORLitMag). I skimmed their timeline and came across something that instantly sparked my curiosity.

“@ARDORLitMag: Submitting online to our Short Story contest is fast & easy with @submittable – $500 & publication to the  winner!”

Though I’d never made it past 10 or 15 pages with any literary effort, I had unknowingly met the mark for short story consideration. I clicked the link (http://www.ardorlitmag.com/short-story-contest.html), read the details of the contest and immediately knew that in keeping with my New Year’s resolution to try new things and embark on new experiences, I had to enter.

I’ll take the next few weeks to alter one of my previously failed novel attempts to make it fit the short story mold and when I’m done I’ll post it for everyone to read and hopefully give me feedback on. I’ll continue to update the blog as I progress and of course continue to find new things to try.

Thanks for reading,

Rob

3 thoughts on “A New Experience: Entering A Short Story Contest

  1. You might also check out Pif Magazine online. They encourage previously unpublished writers to submit short or flash fiction stories.

    • Thanks for the heads up, Gwen! I’m making every effort to challenge myself this year so if you see anything that you think would be worth trying could you pass it along? I look forward to following your blog

  2. Aww…thanks for the follow. Here’s another one of my favorites: Wow! Women on Writing offers a quarterly flash fiction contest (750 words or less). This one is nice because they cap entries at 300. And you don’t have to be a woman to enter. There have been guys that have placed in the top ten. Check it out: http://www.wow-womenonwriting.com/contest.php

Leave a Reply

